Out Riding – somewhat

I finally was able to get out riding this last weekend. I was out Saturday, Sunday and Monday. I normally take Tuesday as a day off and ended up taking Wednesday off as well from being too tired from having to get up extra early for work that day. So better on getting out to the barn but not back in that groove quite yet.

I was completely prepared for Scarlet to be an absolute butt on Saturday. It had been about two and a half weeks since he had gotten out so it would have made a lot of sense for him to be really fresh. But to my surprise, he was absolutely great. He was responsive and focused on his work. He had a lot of energy but it was not the type of energy that I could not direct. I was so happy with him. He must have been happy to get back out and working again.

On Sunday, I ended up riding with another boarder for a while. We walked around the arena for around twenty minutes, just chatting. We even managed to trot together. Then we broke off and did our own thing for a while. It was really nice to ride with someone else. It did mean that I did not work Scarlet as hard as I was planning on but it was a good experience for him.

Monday was our first night riding with the lights in the arena. Scarlet did fairly well all things considered. Someone was doing a jog for the vet while we were grooming and Scarlet got all worked up. He also did not get dinner before I pulled him out of his stall so he was all worked up about that as well. Then he was a little spooked at all the new shadows. Not too badly, just enough to give everything a second look. His brain was so occupied with all of the things he was worked up about, he didn’t have any left for attempting to not work hard. So we had a very good ride where I had a lot of connection from him. It was really nice.

My life is still in disarray after moving but I’m hoping to get back to carving out the necessary time to go to the barn. It will be a bit difficult still in the up coming weeks but I’m making it my priority.

Leave a Reply

