Barn Atmosphere

We’ve been at our new barn for most of a month now and I have to say I’m loving it. Scarlet gets great care and I love the facilities there. Scarlet and I have been having fun hopping back and forth between the dressage and jumping arena. He also is a big fan of the huge lawn that he gets to graze on on the weekends.

Another thing I am loving is the atmosphere of the barn. Everyone always says hi with a smile on their face. It hardly feels like a stiff, obligatory greeting either. People are happy to chat and ask how your ride went.

There are a couple of ladies that seem to have a very similar schedule to me and we are in the same barn row. We chat quite a bit and talk about our horses. It’s completely different from the last place I boarded at. It was only me out there. I loved the me time with my horse but I also really like connecting with other horse people. It has been so long since I’ve been a real part of a horse community. I’m happy that I’m getting that opportunity now.

When I rode on Wednesday, I tacked up next to an assistant trainer from another barn in the are. That barn is super competitive in dressage, jumping, and eventing. Very nice and very expensive. She has her baby warmblood boarded at my barn because she is still pretty green and didn’t want to bring her into that atmosphere yet. Plus, it’s less than half to board at my barn than the place she works. We rode at the same time and she commented that she liked Scarlet’s movement and the little bitty jump we went over a few times. That definitely made me happy.

I then spent twenty or thirty minutes chatting with another lady that has horses in my barn row. She has three currently, two that she owns and one that she is training. She used to be a full-time trainer and had twenty-two at her highest. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to have that many horses in your care. It sounds both amazing and tiring. I’d love to do horses as my career. I never competed when I was a kid so I wouldn’t have a very good draw for many clients. I’d love to find a different way to make money that didn’t require working in an office. I’m working on that but in the meantime, I need to keep the money incoming so I can maintain Scarlet.

I’m looking forward to the next month at this barn. I’m excited about lessons and more jumping and getting to know my barn mates even better.

Leave a Reply

