Floating

Scarlet got his teeth floated on Thursday. The vet said he looked pretty good for a 19 year old horse. Yay! I was a little worried because I wasn’t sure when the last time he had them done was. I was also worried about how he would react to the floating. When I first had Scarlet, we would have to give him one and a half or two doses of sedative. He really didn’t like getting his teeth floated and his fear would just bully right through sedation. 

Luckily, he seems to have gotten over that. We gave him a dose, stuck his butt to a fence and got to work. He was pretty good. He didn’t even lift his head too high. Which is good because our vet is a tiny little Irish man. I got to help hold his head still. I’ve never helped out before so that was interesting.

Scarlet came out of sedation well and he seems to be doing just fine. I hope he feels better while eating. I hadn’t noticed any real signs of pain or difficulty while eating so I don’t really have a base line to gage if things are better or not.

We rode Saturday morning. I’ve been trying to make sure we do some cantering in our warmup phase to see if he loosens up better at that gait. I honestly can’t tell. I’m not sure if he is more loose or if he is just anticipating cantering again and that is why he is moving more forward. In the end, I guess it doesn’t really matter why as long as he moves forward. I hosed him off after the ride and let him graze for a bit. Horse grazing always amuses me. They stuff as much as possible as quick as possible in their mouth like it’s going away.

Leave a Reply

