Good Rides

I have a couple of goals that I want to accomplish while riding all the time. They’ve been a bit unrealistic and I’ve been getting frustrating recently. I have realized that and I have been trying to set a small goal for myself to complete each ride. Recently it has been transitions or working on sitting trot. Sometimes, I’m even lucky to get in a ride that allows me to do both.

Sunday was one of those rides. We did have some issues with the corner per the usual. However, we managed to work through them by lots of circles and pushing forward. I wanted forward movement out of Scarlet. The problem I have with him in the corner is he stops moving forward, lifts his head to stare and takes extremely short strides. My goal is to get him moving forward. He can look and be aware but it needs to be forward. When we get that, it seems to better connect his brain.

We did an inside out cloverleaf pattern a lot once we got to the trot since he started to spook all over again. I ended up sitting the circles in the corners to push him forward and it was a very successful exercise. I felt like it really helped bend him and get his brain engaged since he had to focus on me.  The sitting trot has always been hard for me. I just can’t seem to understand how to sit. I get that there is a way to move properly with the beat of the trot but I can’t seem to find it on my own. We do get moments when the trot is beautiful and I can sit well. I know that is when he is engaging his back better. We are improving but I wish I could improve myself more so I could sit the trot better.

I didn’t ride on Monday as we brought home a new kitten and we needed to supervise the meeting between her and our current cat.

On Tuesday, I didn’t really feel like riding but I went out. I briefly considered doing a bareback ride in the round pen but I chickened out. I really do want to do that but I don’t want to deal with spinning when doing so and Scarlet has been doing too much of that recently.  I got on and we putzed around at the walk for a while. I did many, many circles in the bad corner and got him moving pretty well through it. After that, I got off and longed him in the round pen to give him a bit more of a workout. It was a quieter start to the week but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

