A Slow Recovery

As excited as I was to be back from Japan, the germs in the US were even more so. I got hit with a super bad cold that transitioned into a fever by the Monday I was supposed to go back to work. I was down and out for a good two, two and a half weeks. I basically lived on meds for a while. Since I could barely breathe for five minutes without trying to cough up both of my lungs, it also meant that I was unable to ride.

I did try and ride again a week ago Monday. However, while the ride was good, my lungs weren’t too pleased with me. My coughing had calmed down a bit by then but it kicked back up. Saturday I was able to ride again without my lungs complaining.

It was a fairly short ride as I’m very out of riding shape. We walked and trotted with some circles and serpentines. Very simple. A nice bonus is despite not having much time riding in the last month, Scarlet really didn’t have any spooky moments. Yay!

I’m hoping to pick up riding a lot more in the coming days now that I’m mostly healthy again. I have to be careful as to how much I ask from myself and how much I ask from my horse. I’m positive that if I don’t push, in two weeks we can work on more serious riding again.

Leave a Reply

