Missed Post

Apologies for not posting on Sunday. Many reasons for that that mostly boil down to I was having a bad week and only made it out to see Scarlet once.

I went out on Saturday. Scarlet was super muddy and has finally started to shed more than a couple of hairs. It isn’t quite enough to need a shedding comb, though. Annoyingly so. I can get an okay amount of hair up when I’m currying. But it gets all over my hands! Shedding hair is so sticky too. Hopefully, his shedding speeds up soon so we can get past the hair loss phase.

The arena was a little sloppy since it rained a day before. Not bad, though. I was able to go around the outside of the arena with no issues. I was surprised at how easy it was to get Scarlet to go past the corner again. We went through our basic warm-up of walk/trot/canter. While we were warming up, another person came into the arena. Scarlet started to try and chase after the other horse, which was annoying. I worked on walk-trot transitions with him, which was quite hard while he was not focusing on me. I wish more people rode during the times that we did so that I could work on Scarlet’s tendency to chase other horses. Sunday I didn’t go out since I was really not feeling it. I did go Monday after work which was good. It was a surprisingly good ride, considering I’d only been out one other time in a week. Scarlet was very well behaved. We didn’t have any issue with the corner either. I’m cautiously optimistic that this is a trend and the days which Scarlet does have an issue with that corner will become the oddity, not the other way around.

Sunday I didn’t go out since I was really not feeling it. I did go Monday after work which was good. It was a surprisingly good ride, considering I’d only been out one other time in a week. Scarlet was very well behaved. We didn’t have any issue with the corner either. I’m cautiously optimistic that this is a trend and the days which Scarlet does have an issue with that corner will become the oddity, not the other way around.

I didn’t work on much since I wasn’t mentally able to do that. I did work on walk/trot transitions. We got a few good responses toward the end of the ride. I’m pleased with that. I know that half or more of the issue is actually me. I’ve never been good at downward transitions. I know this. Since I’m aware of it, I probably tense up more than necessary during the transition. I need to get a lesson’s help on a few things like that. There isn’t room in the budget for that at the moment though I’ve been looking into ways to get some extra income that is devoted just to horse things and not household expenses. Maybe lessons will become a possibility sometime in the nearer future.

One thing I really would like to make a goal of and actually follow through with is riding bareback. I have never been able to do that well. I whole-heartedly agree that bareback improves your seat immensely. And I want to have a very secure and balanced seat since that is one of the most important things to have as a rider, in my opinion. I need to try and add in a bareback ride once a week, even if it is just cooling down. I need to get better at it. I’m making a goal! I will force myself to do it! Do not get lazy! No excuses!

Now if I just follow through. =P

Leave a Reply

